Defending Assault Charges In Northeast Ohio
Penalties For Assault In Ohio
Assault is punishable by up to 180 days of incarceration and $1000 in fines, along with court costs and possible probation fees. The court may also impose probation upon an assault conviction and is likely to issue a stay away from the victim order. Having an assault conviction on your record can also make it more difficult to get employment in many circumstances.
Legal Defenses To Assault
The most common defense to an assault charge is self defense. You have a legal right to defend yourself, up to the point where you are no longer in danger. While it is always best to walk away from a physical altercation, if you do find yourself charged with assault you absolutely need legal counsel.
Attorney Kerr will evaluate the strength of the state’s case against you. It could be that you have acted in self-defense or were defending another person. Or it could be that the conduct you were charged does not rise to the level of assault because no real physical harm resulted. In most cases, a good resolution to an assault charge will be pleading to a lesser charge, most often disorderly conduct, a much less serious charge that typically only carries minor punishments such as relatively small fines and costs. In other cases, it may be necessary to take your case to trial. Either way, attorney Kerr will be laser focused on getting the best outcome possible for you.